Disappointing Drugstore Beauty Products

IMG_3881

So its time for me to become a whiny, old hag and moan about some disappointing drugstore beauty products so that hopefully you won’t make the same mistake as me when you’re scouring the pharmacies. First up is the some items from the Revlon Colourstay range, which is not all bad because I LOVE the foundation and gel liner, yet the eyeshadow quads are chalky, not very pigmented and they didn’t really DO anything, one of the shades literally won’t even go on the brush! The Colourstay Overtime mascara is dry and didn’t coat my lashes, its a bit lengthening but no volume and by lunchtime I had started to get flaky and little black specs of mascara on my cheeks. The concealer, although not awful isn’t great. I thought this would be good because of the salicylic acid in it, which I thought would fight the spots it was supposed to be covering but overall it didn’t cover much or last long or dry up my pimples.

Secondly, is Maybelline’s Dream Pure BB Cream for oily/combination skin. I’m not really into the whole BB hype, they don’t really do anything they promise and this was no exception. For an oily skin product this slipped right off my face before lunch, the colour range was non-existent and the lightest shade made me look orange and gave little to no coverage.

Next was Model Co. Fat Lash Volumising Mascara which had such a huge brush it made it so difficult not to get the product all over the place and it didnt help separate the lashes so they went clumpy. The formula was really wet so it didn’t adhere to my lashes, it did give a bit of volume but no length.

Rimmel’s Scandaleyes Eyeshadow Pencils seemed like a good idea but they didn’t really work in my opinion, I picked up the light, champagne colour and although it was long lasting, they were hard to blend and the colour was a bit yellow on the eyes.

The Simple skincare line has some really good products, yet the Replenishing Rich Moisturiser was greasy and broke me out instantly. It was not a good match for my skin and it didn’t really give a lot of moisture to my skin. I gave it a good try but, I just couldn’t get myself to like it and its been sat in my bathroom drawers ever since, just like all of these products. I also promise tomorrow’s post won’t be as bitchy.

3 thoughts on “Disappointing Drugstore Beauty Products

  1. Great post! I’ve been using Elf’s Acne Fighting Foundation and I love it! Only bad thing is you have to order it online I believe. After Shaaanxo did a first impression YouTube video on it I had to have it for its lasting power πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

